“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so,I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also. And where I go you know, and the way you know.” John 14:1-4

Calendar Poodle SAL

Friday, April 27, 2018

Giveaway

Hi friends! It has really warmed up here in Wisconsin. The daffodils are in full bloom.💐

In the latest issue of Just Cross Stitch magazine, the June 2018 issue, there is a sweet pattern called 'Heart Scissors Pocket' by Nicoletta Farrauto of Nikyscreations that I would like to offer as a giveaway. This will just be two pages torn out from the magazine, folded and placed in an envelope. This giveaway is open to all of my followers anywhere in the world. I will draw a winner on Friday May 4th.
During my recovery I listened to a great audio book recommended to me by our friend Barb. The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan was a very good book. I was really not sure what to expect. There was a brief time in the beginning I thought to stop reading it. I was worried where the "big trouble" was headed. Not sure I wanted to stick around for it. I am glad I did.
For readers of Lilac Girls and The NightingaleThe Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past. 
 
An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.
I am still stitching my Margaret Sherry cat for my mom.😣 I love the way MS stitches look, but may not love stitching them. Can you relate? Man! There are like 1 MILLION 1/2 stitches and 3/4 stitches. THAT is getting old! I have started a bit of the backstitching in spots.

Have a super weekend my friends! Thank you for stopping by.

Stitching and praying,
Vickie

17 comments:

Robin in Virginia said...

Always good to see your posts, Vickie! While I like the looks of the finished piece, I am not a fan of 1/2, 1/4 or 3/4 stitches, so I can relate. I hope you have a wonderful and relaxing weekend.

gracie said...

Love your book reviews and this one sounds like one I would be interested in reading. Thank you for always sharing. I hate those "little" stitches!

butterfly said...

I am reading a book now about the war and how the women worked so hard to keep the family safe when the men were away , it was a hard life .
My Nan would tell me story's too .
Enjoy the weekend .

Carolien said...

Dear Vickie,

Good luck with all the MS stitches. It's quite a lot of work but the result is always stunning with Margaret Sherry :)

Have a good week, my friend. I hope the pain will be less intense for you.

Hugs across the pond, Carolien

marly said...

That pocket design is adorable, but I am not stitching so I will pass. I rarely came across the 1/2 and 3/4 stitches, good thing, cause I wouldn't have stitched them!

Barb said...

So glad you enjoyed the book! I just finished "We Were the Lucky Ones". What an amazing story. We really could share a book shelf!

Jenny said...

Hi my dear friend....

I always smile when I see a post from you! Daffodils....I love daffodils...lol!

This book sounds really good. I loved The Nightingale so much so this really interests me! I will have to look for it at the library 🙂

I hope you have a good weekend enjoying things you love! I hope the pain will not be so intense. I am praying!

Sending hugs and love!

MartinaM said...

Hi Vickie,
Oh, I'm glad it's blooming at your home.
I also do not like these half crosses and try to avoid them wherever possible.
I'm looking forward to the finished picture.
Have a nice weekend,
Hugs, Martina

Carol said...

Sounds like Wisconsin and western PA are on the same schedule, Vickie--our daffodils are just lovely (finally!). I took a drive yesterday and was just delighted with all of the flowering trees that had burst into bloom seemingly overnight :)

Three wonderful books--I am having trouble finding another that grabs my attention lately for some reason. One of the things I really miss about being surrounded by books at the library.

Jo who can't think of a clever nickname said...

I just renewed my subscription to JCS. Every year I consider dropping it but then I remember what a hassle it was setting it up!

Beth said...

Loved that book! All that drama in one small village!

Brigitte said...

I can relate to what you say about stitching Margaret Sherry's designs. The finished pieces all look gorgeous but the stitching itself can be a bit tiring. All these 1/4 stitches are not to my liking either. It's the same with some other designers. But I stitch their designs anyway because I love the effect.

Lili said...

The book looks great!
So sorry for the 1/4 and 3/4 stitches, but you will see that the effect it will be wonderful. Keep stitching!

diamondc said...

Hi Vickie: I hope you are healed completely, I love MS designs they are so sweet, its her many stitch's that I cannot handle.
I love to read, I am reading a Kay Scarpetta series now Depraved Heart by Patricia Cornwell, very intriguing.
I am looking forward to seeing the finish for the design you are stitching for your Mother.

Blessings
Catherine

Margaret said...

I definitely don't like stitching half sttches, 3/4 or 1/4 stitches. Yuck. lol! Good luck with that piece you're stitching! I started reading that book, but something stopped me from continuing and I stopped. I should try again.

Mary H said...

Hi Vickie, Can't wait to see your MS Cat! I so admire her designs, they are so cute! I have never done one though! I wonder if you would like the book Green Dolphin Street by Elizabeth Goudge? Or maybe you've already read it! Anyway, something about the plot you described made me think of that, even though I don't expect they have much in common. Green Dolphin Street is a wonderful book, I think. Happy stitching, happy reading!

Astrids dragon said...

I love daffodils, sadly ours are now done.
Which MS cat are you stitching? I know it's a pain, but well worth it!